About

I am originally from Italy, but I spent the last 6 years living abroad. When I was 25 I went on a trip to Australia and ended up living and working in Melbourne for over 3 years. I spend the last 3 years or so between Europe, Asia, and the US and I am currently based in London.

My formal background is in Statistics, which I have studied at La Sapienza University of Rome. After finishing my Masters in Rome, I worked for a few years as a statistics and analytics consultant on the Australian market. At this point I started becoming involved in data science and took a short break to participate in the Spring 1 ‘15 batch of the Recurse Center. At the end of 2015 I also started a Ph.D. in Computer Science at Eindhoven University of Technology, but left 9 months later. During that time, I was part of a EU-funded research project on data-driven predictive maintenance and focused on neural networks and unsupervised machine learning for extracting features from multivariate time series.

I am passionate about combining math and code to solve problems and draw insights from data, and I am particularly excited about Natural Language Processing and the idea of machines being able to understand and generate human language.

In my free time I enjoy reading, being active, with my latest passion being boxing, and talking about social issues, in particular migration and gender inequality. I spend a lot of my time travelling and love learning about different cultures, their food, their language and their way of living.